Katy Perry is the new Twitter Queen! PLUS top 10 celebs on Twitter

Katy Perry has usurped the "Twitter Queen" title from Lady Gaga! Check out the top 10 most followed celebrities on Twitter.

Katy Perry is the new Twitter Queen! PLUS top 10 celebs on Twitter


Katy Perry has overtaken Lady Gaga as the most followed female on Twitter. The pop princess currently has 39,883,873 loyal followers, while Lady Gaga has 39,305,376.

Both ladies are still more than 2.4 million followers behind Twitter king Justin Bieber, who has an impressive 42,330,850 followers.



Katy Perry is a huge fan of Twitter, recently using the social network to send her condolences to Cory Monteith's loved ones. "Rest in peace Cory. My heart goes out to his family and loved ones. Our prayers are with you," she tweeted. She also uses Twitter as a tool for voicing her opinions on America: "What do we stand for? How are we America, united... the beautiful? We should take a long look in the mirror, we need REAL change."

Follow HelloCanada on Twitter!>

Lady Gaga was the most-followed user on the social network for more than two years, but has now fallen to third place as a likely result of inactivity. The Born This Way star has recently had her hip operated on and has been out of the limelight since February to recover.

The 27-year-old has not tweeted since February 6 and has changed her Twitter profile avatar back to the default egg picture, supposedly as part of a marketing stunt to promote her upcoming fourth album, ARTPOP. It has been rumoured that the album will include a social media component to explore her "existence as a cultural interface."

Despite her lack of social media activity, Lady Gaga recently posted a photo to her fansite littlemonsters.com, bearing a pale complexion and light blond eyebrows, a far cry away from her extravagant onstage persona. "It's a scary thing to revisit those things underneath. All I found was raw passion," she wrote alongside the snap.


Here are the top 10 most followed celebrities on Twitter today:

1. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 42,330,850)

2. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 39,883,873 )

3. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 39,305,376 )

4. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 34,538,368)

5. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 31,364,915)

6. Rihanna (@rihanna, 30,781,719)

7. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 29,728,038)

8. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 23,285,501)

9. Shakira (@shakira, 21,467,450)

10. Jennifer Lopez (@JLo, 21,399,310)


Photos: Getty Images

A version of this article appeared at Hellomagazine.com with the headline "Katy Perry takes 'Twitter Queen' title from Lady Gaga."

Related news