pringles

7 surprising foods you didn't know were vegan

by Chloe Best

If you thought going vegan – whether just for Veganuary or longer term – meant sacrificing all of your favourite treats, we have some good news. It turns out that a number of popular snacks including certain biscuits and even Pringles are vegan-friendly, making the transition to veganism even easier and adding a little bit of indulgence among your healthy meals.

Here are seven of the most surprising vegan foods you'll be happy you don't have to give up.

Oreos

Oreos

Despite their creamy filling, Oreos don't contain any animal products so they are technically suitable for vegans. However the manufacturers warn that Oreos may have "cross-contact" with milk, so it depends how strict you want to be.

10 THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT GOING VEGAN

Bourbons

Another sweet treat you can enjoy with your cuppa, Bourbons are one of the "accidental vegan" snack foods, along with another classic biscuit; Fox's Party Rings.

Vegan wine

vegan-wine

Many people are unaware that a lot of wine is filtered through "fining agents" including casein (milk protein), gelatine and fish oil during production. But thankfully a number of winemakers use animal-friendly fining agents to make vegan wine – including many of Tesco's Finest wines and Lion's Gate Cabernet Sauvignon Shiraz. Do your research before you drink.

Pringles

Yep, there's no need to pass up on the Pringles even when you turn vegan. Many flavours of the crisps are suitable for vegans, such as Original, BBQ, Paprika and Smokey Bacon.

Bagels

Bagels

Bring on the carbs! Most bagels are typically vegan-friendly, and with a delicious array of flavours including Cinnamon and Raisin, Sesame and Onion, The New York Bakery's bagel range will offer the perfect indulgent breakfast or snack.

Lindt Excellence Cocoa Bars in 75%, 85% and 90%

While milk and white chocolates are a vegan no-no, many high-quality dark chocolate bars such as the Lindt Excellence range and Cadbury's Bournville will give you your sugar fix without any dairy.

Jacob's Cream Crackers

Cheese and crackers aren't completely off the menu during Veganuary. Top Jacob's Cream Crackers with vegan cheese for an animal-free alternative to the tasty snack.